Advanced search

Posts tagged as pathfinders

Pathfinder - Small Business

April 18, 2014 by sdc
Pathfinders logo


Small Business Pathfinder
posted October 2009
created by Bob B.

How can we help you begin your research?

We'll be glad to look up information for you about Small Businesses -- or help you find what you need. Some examples:
  • An address or telephone number
  • The website for a company, name of the CEO,....
  • A list of all the businesses with more than 10 employees in Beatrice, or Hastings, or...
  • A list of motels and restaurants in Grand Island, or Nebraska City, or...
  • The cost of living in Kansas City, Missouri
  • Average pay rates for selected occupations in North Platte, or York, or...
  • Address and phone for the Chamber of Commerce in St. Joseph, MO, or...
  • The latest Consumer Price Index
  • Who has a certain telephone number or address
  • Income tax forms
We can copy and fax a limited number of pages to you, at $0.25 a page, or mail information to you.

We have high-speed Internet access at all libraries, at no charge for use and limited charges for printing. (Call for more information)

We also have wireless access at all Lincoln City Libraries

We have access to annual reports for major Nebraska businesses.

We have a large collection of material from the City of Lincoln -- annual reports, Comprehensive Plans, etc.

Give us a call or stop by!

Reference Services -- Bennett Martin Public Library -- Lincoln City Libraries -- Lincoln, Nebraska -- (402) 441-8530 -- e-mail: reference@lincolnlibraries.org

 


 

Resources in Our Collection

Small business owners looking for suggestions on how to start or improve their business will find a wealth of material at the Lincoln City Libraries. Electronic databases full of relevant, up-to-date magazine and newspaper articles, print materials from well-known authors and research centers, and links to valuable, selected Internet websites provide both general and specific information on hundreds of topics, from taxes to licenses to marketing to training.

Electronic resources can be accessed 24/7 by anyone with a Lincoln City Libraries card. You can inquire about specific facts, figures, or addresses by phone or email or instant messaging. We can fax or mail you copies of forms, magazine articles, or other material. Most of the titles listed here can be checked out.

 

PRINT RESOURCES

Laws and Taxes -- for example, Directories -- for example,
Magazines and Newsletters -- for example, How-To Books -- General -- for example,
How-To Books -- Specific Businesses -- for example,
In the News - On-Line Resources

The following subscription databases and/or themed webliographies on the Lincoln City Libraries site can be used to access numerous articles and/or links to additional resources about Small Businesses on-line. The databases are resources the library has purchased for your use -- they are not available through a simple Internet search. Use your library card number for access to these paid databases. The webliographies below list dozens of librarian-selected free Internet sites for a wide variety of subjects -- for example, the Small Business Administration and the Census Bureau [If you have difficulty accessing or using the databases, please contact the Reference Department at 441-8530 for assistance.]

Database: Ebsco MasterFILE [Index of magazine/journal articles - many full-text]  
Database: Wilson Omnifile & Biographies Plus [Index of magazine/journal articles - many full-text; plus - biographical profiles]
Database: eLibrary [Index of magazine/newspaper/radio articles - many full-text]
Database: New York Times [Database of articles from the NYT, 1999 to present]
Database: Nebraska Small Business Forms [for Nebraska Businesses specifically]
Database: Business Reference e-Books [includes the Business Plans Handbook and the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance]
Database: Reference USA [a nationwide business and residential phone directory]

* Please Note: The presence of a link on this site does not constitute an endorsement by Lincoln City Libraries.


Back to the Reference Department page
Main Library Homepage

 

This Research Pathfinder created in September 2009 bb -- Last updated in November 2012 sdc



Tagged in: Lincoln City Libraries, library, Lincoln, Nebraska, NE, libraries, public, public library, public libraries, departments, reference, Research, pathfinders, small business, small businesses,
Comments: 0

Pathfinder - Constitution

May 03, 2007 by sdc
Pathfinders logo

posted DATE

U.S. Constitution

This is a guide to topics and sources related to the U.S. Constitution. Although there are many other sources of information on the subject, this guide can help you begin your search. Sources listed in this guide are available at the Bennett Martin Public Library and, where indicated, in the branch libraries. Library staff can help you to use this guide or to find additional sources of information.

TEXTDESC

TEXTDESC

TEXTDESC

TEXTDESC


In the News - Resources in Our Collection
The links in this section of this list will take you directly into the items' entries in the catalog of the Lincoln City Libraries, where you can check on the items' availability throughout the library system.

Reference Books on the U.S. Constitution

R 342.73
Cha
Chandler, Enstem Renstron The Constitutional Law Dictionary [3 vol.] [1985]
R 342.73
Con
United States Congress. Senate. Committee on the Judiciary Amendments to the Constitution, a Brief Legislative History  [1985]
R 342.73
Con
Congressional Quarterly CQ's Guide to the U.S. Constitution: History, Text, Index, Glossary  [1986]
R 342.73
Cus
Cushman, Robert F. Leading Constitutional Decisions [17th ed.] [1987]
R 342.73
Lev
Levy, Leonard Williams [ed.] The Encyclopedia of the American Constitution [4 vol.] [1986]
R 342.73
Sha 5
Shapiro, Martin American Constitutional Law [5th ed.] [1979]
R 347.992
Fri
Friedman, Leon The Justices of the United States Supreme Court - Their Lives and Major Opinions [5 vol.] [1971-80]
R 973
Mar 1978
Martin, Michael Dictionary of American History; with the complete text of the Constitution of the United States  [1978]
R 973
Web
  Webster's Guide to American History: A Chronological, Geographical and Biographical Survey and Compendium  [1971]
R 973.03
Mor 1982
Morris, Richard B. Encyclopedia of American History [6th ed.] [1982]
R 973.03
qKut
Kutler, Stanley I. [ed.] Dictionary of American History [10 vol.] [2003]
R 973.099
Tay
Taylor, Tim The Book of Presidents  [1972]

Circulating Works About the U.S. Constitution

305.42
Ste
Steiner, Gilbert Yale Constitutional Inequality: The Political Fortunes of the Equal Rights Amendment  [1985]
323.4
D 74 L
Douglas, William O. A Living Bill of Rights  [1961]
332.1
Pat
Patterson, Lena E. Separation of Church and State  [1984]
342.02
Han
Hand, Learned The Bill of Rights  [1958]
342.085
Hen
Hentoff, Nat The First Freedom: The Tumultuous History of Free Speech in America  [1980]
342.73
Anti
Anti-Federalist Papers The Anti-Federalist Papers and the Constitutional Convention Debates  [1986]
342.73
Bow
Bowen, Catherine Drinker Miracle at Philadelphia  [1986]
342.73
Con
Gerberg, Mort The U.S. Constitution for Everyone: A Guide to the Most Important Document Written By and For the People of the United States  [1987]
342.73
Con 1987
Preiss, B. [ed.] Constitution of the United States of America  [1987]
342.73
Fed
[various] The Federalist: A Commentary on the Constitution of the United States of America  [2000]
342.73
Fin
Findlay, Bruce Allyn Your Rugged Constitution: How America's House of Freedom is Planned and Built  [1969]
342.73
Fri
Friendly, Fred W. The Constitution, That Delicate Balance  [1984]
342.73
Gar
Garrity, John Quarrels That Have Shaped the Constitution [rev. ed.]  [1987]
342.73
Kam
Kammen, Michael G. A Machine That Would Go of Itself: The Constitution in American Culture  [1986]
342.73
Kam
Kammen, Michael The Origins of the American Constitution: A Documentary History  [1986]
342.73
Lev
Levy, Leonard Williams Essays on the Making of the Constitution  [1969]
342.73
Mad 1987
Kramnick, Isaac [ed.] The Federalist Papers  [1987]
342.73
Mee
Mee, Charles The Genius of the People  [1987]
342.73
Ros
Rossiter, Clinton 1787: The Grand Convention  [1987]
342.73
Smi 1987
Smith, Edward Conrad [ed.] Constitution of the United States - Bicentennial Edition  [1987]
342.73
Van
VanDoren, Carl The Great Rehearsal: The Story of the Making and Ratifying of the the Constitution  [1987]
346.66
Ste
Stevens, Leonard A. Death Penalty: The Case of Life vs. Death in the United States  [1978]
347.732
Bau
Baum, Lawrence The Supreme Court [4th ed.] [1992]
347.73
Cox
Cox, Archibald The Court and the Constitution  [1987]
973.318
Col
Collier, Christopher Decision in Philadelphia: The Constitutional Convention of 1787  [1986]
973.318
Mor
Morris, Richard Branden Witnesses at the Creation: Hamilton, Madison, Jay and the American Constitution  [1985]
B
H18c
Chernow, Ron Alexander Hamilton, a Biography  [2004]
B
J36 1998
Jefferson, Thomas Life and Selected Writings of Thomas Jefferson  [1944]
B
J36
Jefferson, Thomas The Portable Thomas Jefferson  [1975]
B
J36m
Malone, Dumas Jefferson and His Time [6 vol.] [1948]
B
M26b
Brant, Irving James Madison, Father of the Constitution [5 vol.]  [-1961]
B
M35s
Stites, F. [ed.] John Marshall: Defender of the Constitution  [1981]

Encyclopedias

R 031
qAca
Academic American Encyclopedia
[LOCATION]
  — Check the following subject headings —
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
R 031
qEnc
Encyclopedia Americana
[LOCATION]
  — Check the following subject headings —
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
R 031
qWor
World Book Encyclopedia
[LOCATION]
  — Check the following subject headings —
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING
HEADING

ADDITIONAL HEADING

TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]

Audio and/or Video Materials

TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]

Vertical File/Clippings

"TOPIC" -- clipping file may be viewed in the Periodicals Room of the downtown library


In the News - On-Line Resources

The following subscription databases and/or themed webliographies on the Lincoln City Libraries site can be used to access numerous articles and/or links to additional resources about SUBJECT on-line. [If you have difficulty accessing or using the databases, please contact the Reference Department at 441-8530 for assistance.]

Database: Ebsco Masterfile Elite [Index of magazine/journal articles - many full-text]
Database: Wilson Omnifile & Biographies Plus [Index of magazine/journal articles - many full-text; plus - biographical profiles]
Database: eLibrary [Index of magazine/newspaper/radio articles - many full-text]
Database: New York Times [Database of articles from the NYT]
Database: The Literature Resource Center [Information about authors]
LCL Webliography: Entertainment and Arts Resources

Additional on-line resources * about SUBJECT:

"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION

* Please Note: The presence of a link on this site does not constitute an endorsement by Lincoln City Libraries.

This Lincoln City Libraries Research Pathfinder created in MONTH YEAR -- Last updated in MONTH YEAR


Back to the Reference Department page
Library Departments
Main Library Homepage



Tagged in: Lincoln City Libraries, library, Lincoln, Nebraska, NE, libraries, public, public library, public libraries, departments, reference, Research, pathfinders, U.S. Constitution,
Comments: 0

Pathfinder - Funeral Planning

May 03, 2007 by sdc
Pathfinders logo Pathfinders logo

posted July 2006
SPECIFICSUBJECT

TEXTDESC

TEXTDESC

TEXTDESC

TEXTDESC

TEXTDESC


In the News - Resources in Our Collection
The links in this section of this list will take you directly into the items' entries in the catalog of the Lincoln City Libraries, where you can check on the items' availability throughout the library system.

PRIMARY BOOK RESOURCES ON THE SUBJECT

The American Bar Association Guide to Wills and Estates: Everything You Need to Know About Wills, Trusts, Estates and Taxes  346.052 Ame[1995]
Affairs in Order: A Complete Resource Guide to Death and Dying  306.9 And[1991]
All of Us: Americans Talk About the Meaning of Death  155.937 And[1996]
The Cost of Dying and What You Can Do About It  393 Arv[1974]
How We Grieve: Relearning the World  155.937 Att[1997]
The Lessons of Love: Rediscovering Our Passion for Life When it all Seems Too Hard to Take  155.934 Bea[1994]
Graceful Exits: How Great Beings Die; Death Stories of Tibetan, Hindu and Zen Masters  294.3 Bla[1997]
Mourning and Mitzvah: A Guided Journal for Walking the Mourner's Path Through Grief to Healing  296.445 Bre[1993]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]

ADDITIONAL WORKS WITH REFERENCES TO SUBJECT

TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]

ADDITIONAL HEADING

TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]

Audio and/or Video Materials

TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]
TITLE  CALL[DATE]

Vertical File/Clippings

"TOPIC" -- clipping file may be viewed in the Periodicals Room of the downtown library


In the News - On-Line Resources

The following subscription databases and/or themed webliographies on the Lincoln City Libraries site can be used to access numerous articles and/or links to additional resources about SUBJECT on-line. [If you have difficulty accessing or using the databases, please contact the Reference Department at 441-8530 for assistance.]

Database: Ebsco Masterfile Elite [Index of magazine/journal articles - many full-text]
Database: Wilson Omnifile & Biographies Plus [Index of magazine/journal articles - many full-text; plus - biographical profiles]
Database: eLibrary [Index of magazine/newspaper/radio articles - many full-text]
Database: New York Times [Database of articles from the NYT]
Database: The Literature Resource Center [Information about authors]
LCL Webliography: Entertainment and Arts Resources

Additional on-line resources * about SUBJECT:

"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION
"TITLE"
DESCRIPTION

* Please Note: The presence of a link on this site does not constitute an endorsement by Lincoln City Libraries.

This Research Pathfinder created in MONTH YEAR -- Last updated in MONTH YEAR


Back to the Reference Department page
Library Departments
Main Library Homepage



Tagged in: Lincoln City Libraries, library, Lincoln, Nebraska, NE, libraries, public, public library, public libraries, departments, reference, Research, pathfinders, funeral planning,
Comments: 0


Previous Entries