Return to the main BookGuide page
Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!
This is a list of books used during a past Book Talk at one of the libraries

Hugo and Nebula Award Winners
Bethany Branch, October 14, 2005 & Gere Branch, October 17, 2005
Scott C.

Connect to a list of Hugo-winning SF and Fantasy novelsConnect to a list of Nebula-winning SF and Fantasy novels

Scott talked about the lengthy history of the two main awards for science fiction and fantasy literature -- the Hugo (nominated and voted upon by the fans) and the Nebula (nominated and voted upon by the writers themselves). Although all of the books on both lists were covered in brief, special emphasis was placed on several of the following titles:
Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell
by Susanna Clarke
Hugo Award - 2005

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
by J.K. Rowling
Hugo Award - 2001

Darwin's Radio Darwin's Radio
by Greg Bear
Nebula Award - 2000

Blue Mars Blue Mars
by Kim Stanley Robinson
Hugo Award - 1997

Green Mars Green Mars
by Kim Stanley Robinson
Hugo Award - 1994

Red Mars Red Mars
by Kim Stanley Robinson
Nebula Award - 1993

The Vor Game The Vor Game
by Lois McMaster Bujold
Hugo Award - 1991

Neuromancer Neuromancer
by William Gibson
Nebula Award - 1984 and Hugo Award - 1985

Startide Rising Startide Rising
by David Brin
Nebula Award - 1983 and Hugo Award - 1984

The Forever War The Forever War
by Joe Haldeman
Nebula Award - 1975 and Hugo Award - 1976

Flowers for Algernon Flowers for Algernon
by Daniel Keyes
Nebula Award - 1966

Dune Dune
by Frank Herbert
Nebula Award - 1965 and Hugo Award 1966

A Canticle for Leibowitz A Canticle for Leibowitz
by Walter M. Miller
Hugo Award - 1961

Fahrenheit 451 Fahrenheit 451
by Ray Bradbury
Hugo Award - 1954 [Awarded retroactively in 1994]

The Demlished Man The Demolished Man
by Alfred Bester
Hugo Award - 1953

Interested in learning more about the Hugos, Nebulas and other awards for genre literature? Visit the Award Winners page of the BookGuide Web site.