Return to the main BookGuide page
Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!
Thriller Award banner

The Thriller Awards are a relative new award, having first been presented in 2006. They are selected by the membership of The International Thriller Writers, an organization of writers first established in 2005, at their annual convention, ThrillerFest. In its first years, the Thriller Awards have been presented in the categories of Best Novel, Best First Novel, Best Paperback Original and Best Screenplay. This list includes the winners in all of these categories, with the books linked to the library's catalog (in cases where the Lincoln City Libraries owns those titles), and the screenplays linked to that film's entry in the Internet Movie Database. Additional information about all of the categories, including each year's finalists/nominees, can be found at this Thriller Awards page on the ITW site.

Thriller Award Winners for Best Novel

2014  Book Cover  Andrew Pyper
The Demonologist
2013  Book Cover  Brian Freeman
Spilled Blood
2012  Book Cover  Stephen King
2011  Book Cover  John Sandford
Bad Blood
2010  Book Cover  Lisa Gardner
The Neighbor
2009  Book Cover  Jeffery Deaver
The Bodies Left Behind
2008  Book Cover  Robert Harris
The Ghost
2007  Book Cover  Joseph Finder
Killer Instinct
2006  Book Cover  Christopher Reich
The Patriot's Club

Thriller Award Winners for Best First Novel

2014  Book Cover  Jason Matthews
2013  Book Cover  Matthew Quirk
The 500
2012  Book Cover  Paul McEuen
2011  Book Cover  Chevy Stevens
Still Missing
2010  Book Cover  Jamie Freveletti
Running From the Devil
2009  Book Cover  Tom Rob Smith
Child 44
2008  Book Cover  Joe Hill
Heart-Shaped Box
2007  Book Cover  Nick Stone
Mr. Clarinet
2006  Book Cover  Adam Fawer

Thriller Award Winners for Best Paperback Original

2014  Book Cover  Jennifer McMahon
The One I Left Behind
2013  Book Cover  Sean Doolittle
Lake Country
2012  Book Cover  Jeff Abbott
The Last Minute
2011  Book Cover  J.T. Ellison
The Cold Room
2010  Book Cover  Tom Piccirilli
The Coldest Mile
2008  Book Cover  Tom Piccirilli
The Midnight Road
2007  Book Cover  P.J. Parrish
An Unquiet Grave
2006  Book Cover  R. Cameron Cooke
Pride Runs Deep

Thriller Award Winners for Best Screenplay

2007  Eric Roth
The Good Shepherd
2006  Michael Haneke
Cache (Hidden)

Thriller Award Winners for Best Short Story

2014  Book Cover  Twist Phalen
"Footprints in War" in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine
2013  Book Cover  John Rector
"Lost Things" in Amazon Kindle Single
2011  Book Cover  Richard Helms
"The Gods for Vengeance Cry" in the November 2010 Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine
2010  Book Cover  Twist Phelan
"A Stab in the Heart" in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine
2009  Book Cover  Alexandra Sokoloff
"The Edge of Seventeen" in anthology The Darker Mask

Last Updated August 2014 sdc

Looking for additional novels on this or other subjects? Try out the NoveList database!

Interested in other thriller novels? You might want to sign up for our On-Line Thriller Book Club at our On-Line Book Clubs page, or take a look at our other thriller-themed lists on our booklists page.
Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!