Return to the main BookGuide page
Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!
The Hillerman Prize

The Hillerman Prize was established in 2006 to honor Tony Hillerman [1925-2008], considered by many mystery readers and writers to be "the dean of Southwestern mysteries" for his hugely successful Jim Chee/Joe Leaphorn Arapaho mystery series. The prize goes to an unpublished author for a first mystery novel set in the Southwest, and is selected by judges chosen by the editorial staff of St. Martin's Press, which was, for many years, Tony Hillerman's primary publisher. For more information, including the full rules and guidelines for this award, click on the The Official Hillerman Prize web site.

[Note: No prize was given in 2009 or 2012.]

The titles in this list are "hotlinked" to the library's catalog, for all those titles currently owned by the Lincoln City Libraries. For titles not currently owned by our system, please consider requesting them through our Interlibrary Loan service.

The Hillerman Prize winners -- 2007 to present

2014  Book Cover  John Fortunato
Dark Reservations
2013  Book Cover  C.B. McKenzie
Bad Country
2011  Book Cover  Andrew Hunt
City of Saints
2010  Book Cover  Tricia Fields
The Territory
2008  Book Cover  Roy Chaney
The Ragged Edge of Nowhere
2007  Book Cover  Christine Barber
The Replacement Child

Originally posted January 2012
Last updated August 2014 sdc

Looking for additional novels on this or other subjects? Try out the NoveList database!

Connect to the main Lincoln City Libraries Web site!