Research Resources


If you are using a library computer or the library's wi-fi access, please use this page instead for access to our Research Resources.

Important:
First time users
, please read these access instructions. If you have difficulty logging in, please try these troubleshooting tips.

If you have difficulty using these databases, please contact the Reference Department at 441-8530 for assistance.

Resources are grouped into these categories:

Arts Directories Health Magazines & news
Automotive Education History & Biography Religion
Books & literature Genealogy Language Science
Business, Consumer & Employment
Geography Law Miscellaneous
     
Alphabetical listing of all resources

Arts Resources:
NewAmerican Song   Recordings and information about the history of American Music. This resource includes the material formerly included in African American Song. More info
CAMIO   Art images. This resource is only available inside Lincoln City Libraries facilities. If you are using wifi access in one of our libraries, access is available here.
Classical Music Library   Archive of classical music recordings and information about classical music. More info
NewContemporary World Music
  Recordings and information about contemporary music from around the world. More info
NewJazz Music Library
  Comprehensive collection of streaming jazz. More info
Smithsonian Global Sound   Recordings and information about music from around the world. More info
Theatre in Video   Videos of plays and documentaries about theater. More info
 
Automotive Information:
Auto Repair Reference Center   Automotive repair information. More info
 
Books and literature resources:
NewBooks24x7   Electronic books with an emphasis on computer hardware and software, business, and health and well-being; registration is required to use this resource. More info
Books in Print
   NebraskAccess
  Database of books available from publishers. More info
Dear Reader   Receive book excerpts by e-mail. More info
Downloadable Audiobooks from OverDrive   Downloadable audiobooks. More info
Please see this note about downloadable audiobooks and iPods
Fiction Connection
   NebraskAccess
  Help for finding good books to read. More info
Literature Resource Center   Information on more than 120,000 writers; this database includes the Contemporary Authors database. More info
netLibrary
   Set up a netLibrary account
  Electronic books. More info
NoveList   Help for finding good books to read. More info
NoveList K-8   A special version of NoveList for kids. More info
WorldCat   Access to the holdings records of libraries around the world. More info
 
Business, Consumer & Employment resources:
Business Reference e-Books   A collection of electronic business reference books. More info
NewJobNow
powered by brainfuse
  Live interactive help and other resources for job seekers. Live help available from 2:00-11:00 PM each day. More info
The Kiplinger Letter
   NebraskAccess
  Business and investment information. More info
Morningstar® Investment Research Center   Business and investment information. More info
Nebraska Small Business Forms   Small business forms for use in Nebraska. More info
Prices for Antiques (p4A Antiques Reference)   Information about antiques and collectibles. More info
ReferenceUSA - Business
  Nationwide business directory. More info
Small Business Resource Center   Information on starting and maintaining a successful small business. More info
Value Line® Investment Survey   Business and investment information. More info
 
Directories
ReferenceUSA - Business
  Nationwide business directory. More info
ReferenceUSA - Residential
  Nationwide telephone directory. More info
 
Education Resources:
NewHomework HelpNow powered by brainfuse
Online tutoring and homework help for grades 3-12. Service available from 2:00-11:00 PM each day. More info
Teacher Reference Center   Information for teachers and professional educators. More info
Testing & Education Reference Center   Information about colleges, graduate schools, and scholarships; includes on-line practice tests and test prep eBooks. More info
 
Genealogy Resources:
Ancestry Library Edition   Genealogy information. This resource is only available inside Lincoln City Libraries facilities. If you are using wifi access in one of our libraries, access is available here.
NewArchiveGrid   Index to historical archives. This resource is only available inside Lincoln City Libraries facilities. If you are using wifi access in one of our libraries, access is available here.
HeritageQuest Online   Genealogy information. More info
 
Geography Resources:
Geography Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books about places and cultures. More info
 
Health Resources:
NewConsumer Health Complete
  Consumer-oriented health information. More info
Health and Medicine Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books on health and medicine. More info
 
History & Biography Resources:
NewArchiveGrid   Index to historical archives. This resource is only available inside Lincoln City Libraries facilities. If you are using wifi access in one of our libraries, access is available here.
Biography Resource Center   Biographical information. More info
History Reference e-Books   A collection of electronic history reference books. More info
Wilson Biography Reference Bank & Omnifile   Biographical database and periodicals index. More info
 
Language Information:
Mango Languages   Lessons in nine foreign languages, plus English for speakers of other languages. More info
NewOxford Language Dictionaries   Dictionary for translating between English and six other languages. More info
 
Law Resources:
LegalForms   Legal forms for use in Nebraska. More info
West's Encyclopedia of American Law   Information on legal issues. More info
 
Magazines and news resources:
NewEBSCO Masterfile Premier
  Full-text magazine articles and reference sources. More info
eLibrary (formerly Electric Library)   Articles from selected magazines, newspapers (including the Omaha World Herald), books, and radio and TV broadcasts. More info
NewLincoln Journal Star
  Coverage of the Lincoln Journal Star from June 1996 to the present. More info
Nebraska Newsstand   This resource is no longer available.
New York Times (login not required)   Coverage from 1999-present. More info
Wilson Omnifile
& Biography Reference Bank
  Full-text magazine articles and biographical database. More info
 
Religion Resources:
Religion Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books about religions and religious issues. (Currently includes only the Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World) More info
 
Science Resources:
Facts On File Science Online   No longer available.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia   Detailed zoological information. More info
 
Miscellaneous Databases:
FirstSearch   Thirteen databases on a variety of topics. More info
Gale Virtual Reference Library   Electronic Reference Books. More info
Kids InfoBits   Information resources for students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. More info
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)   Information about Library and Information Science. More info
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center   Information on social issues. More info
Prices for Antiques (p4A Antiques Reference)   Information about antiques and collectibles. More info
World Book Online   This resource is no longer available
 
Access to the following database is available only from within Lincoln City Libraries facilities:
Ancestry Library Edition   Genealogy information

 

Alphabetical listing of all resources:


African American Song   Recordings and information about the history of African American Music. More info
Ancestry Library Edition

Genealogy information. This resource is only available inside Lincoln City Libraries facilities. If you are using wifi access in one of our libraries, access is available here.
NewArchiveGrid   Index to historical archives. This resource is only available inside Lincoln City Libraries facilities. If you are using wifi access in one of our libraries, access is available here.
Auto Repair Reference Center   Automotive repair information. More info
Biography Resource Center   Biographical information. More info
NewBooks24x7   Electronic books with an emphasis on computer hardware and software, business, and health and well-being; registration is required to use this resource. More info
Books in Print
   NebraskAccess
  Database of books available from publishers. More info
Business Reference e-Books   A collection of electronic business reference books. More info
NewCAMIO   Art images. This resource is only available inside Lincoln City Libraries facilities. If you are using wifi access in one of our libraries, access is available here.
Classical Music Library   Archive of classical music recordings and information about classical music. More info
NewConsumer Health Complete
  Consumer-oriented health information. More info
Downloadable Audiobooks from OverDrive   Downloadable audiobooks. More info
Please see this note about downloadable audiobooks and iPods
NewEBSCO Masterfile Premier
  Full-text magazine articles and reference sources. More info
eLibrary (formerly Electric Library)   Articles from selected magazines, newspapers (including the Omaha World Herald), books, and radio and TV broadcasts. More info
Facts On File Science Online   Extensive information on a broad range of scientific disciplines. This resource is not currently available.
Fiction Connection
   NebraskAccess
  Help for finding good books to read. More info
FirstSearch   Thirteen databases on a variety of topics. More info
Gale Virtual Reference Library   Electronic Reference Books. More info
Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection   This resource is no longer available
Geography Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books about places and cultures. More info
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia   Detailed zoological information. More info
Health and Medicine Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books on health and medicine. More info
HeritageQuest Online   Genealogy information. More info
History Reference e-Books   A collection of electronic history reference books. More info
Home Improvement Collection   This resource is no longer available
NewHomework HelpNow powered by brainfuse

Online tutoring and homework help for grades 3-12. Service available from 2:00-11:00 PM each day. More info
NewJobNow
powered by brainfuse
  Live interactive help and other resources for job seekers. Live help available from 2:00-11:00 PM each day. More info
Kids InfoBits   Information resources for students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. More info
The Kiplinger Letter
   NebraskAccess
  Business information. More info
LegalForms   Legal forms for use in Nebraska. More info
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)   Information about Library and Information Science. More info
NewLincoln Journal Star
  Coverage of the Lincoln Journal Star from June 1996 to the present. More info
Literature Resource Center   Information on more than 120,000 writers; this database includes the Contemporary Authors database. More info
Mango Languages   Lessons in nine foreign languages, plus English for speakers of other languages. More info
Morningstar® Investment Research Center   Business and investment information. More info
Nebraska Newsstand   This resource is no longer available.
Nebraska Small Business Forms   Small business forms for use in Nebraska. More info
netLibrary
   Set up a netLibrary account
  Electronic books. More info
New York Times (login not required)   Coverage from 1999-present. More info
NoveList   Help for finding good books to read. More info
NoveList K-8   A special version of NoveList for kids. More info
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center   Information on social issues. More info
NewOxford Language Dictionaries   Dictionary for translating between English and six other languages. More info
ReferenceUSA - Business
  Nationwide business directory. More info
ReferenceUSA - Residential
  Nationwide telephone directory. More info
Religion Reference e-Books   Electronic Reference books about religions and religious issues. (Currently includes only the Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World) More info
Small Business Resource Center   Information on starting and maintaining a successful small business. More info
Smithsonian Global Sound   Recordings and information about music from around the world. More info
Teacher Reference Center   Information for teachers and professional educators. More info
Testing & Education Reference Center   Information about colleges, graduate schools, and scholarships; includes on-line practice tests and test prep eBooks. More info
Theatre in Video   Videos of plays and documentaries about theater. More info
Value Line® Investment Survey   Business and investment information. More info
West's Encyclopedia of American Law   Information on legal issues. More info
Wilson Biography Reference Bank & Omnifile   Biographical database and periodicals index. More info
World Book Online   This resource is no longer available
WorldCat   Access to the holdings records of libraries around the world. More info